Skip Navigation
Online help
Report, document, data mart report, and HTML document execution

Wait page
Refreshing the Wait page
During execution
Viewing the details of a report or document
Canceling execution
Reseting data
Refreshing data
Refreshing HTML documents
Re-answering prompts for reports and documents
Reprompting

Wait page
The Wait page is displayed if results are not immediately returned when you request the execution of a report, document, data mart report, or HTML document. The Wait page contains the report, document, data mart report, or HTML document name and its current execution status. When execution is complete, the Results page automatically replaces the Wait page.

Refreshing the Wait page
The Wait page automatically refreshes itself at a time interval specified by your administrator. To refresh the Wait page yourself, click the Check Status Again button.

During execution
The following applies to your options for action during and after report execution:
  • MicroStrategy Web supports asynchronous execution. If your user privileges include the asynchronous execution privilege, you do not have to wait for one execution process to finish before you perform another action with MicroStrategy Web. You can, for example, run additional reports or browse other pages while your report is running.
  • To add a report, document, data mart report, or HTML document to the History List, click Add to my History List on the Wait page. A report status message is then added to the contents of the History List. If you have the "View History List" user privilege, you can check the status of your request at any time by accessing the History List.

Viewing the details of a report or document
To access additional information for any report or document in the History List, click the Details icon  in the appropriate row. You can also access this page while the task is in process by clicking the Show details link on either the Wait page or the Prompt page. Another alternative is to view the details of a report or document from View mode, after a report or document executes. From the File menu, select Report Details (or Document Details). The Report (or Document) Details page is displayed.

Prerequisites

You must have the Web Report Details privilege in MicroStrategy Desktop to view the report details. For more information, contact your administrator.

The Details page opens, providing the following information:

  • Report/document name
  • Report/document description
  • Owner
  • Time last modified
  • Report/document path  
  • Start time
  • Finish time
  • Template Filter
  • Filter details
  • SQL statement

Click Show Advanced Details to reveal the following additional information:

  • Total number of rows
  • Total number of columns
  • Server name
  • Message ID
  • Job ID
  • Report ID
  • Status
  • Message created time
  • Message last updated time
  • Attribute descriptions
  • Custom group descriptions
  • Consolidation descriptions
  • Metric descriptions
  • Metric definitions

Note: Some fields may not be displayed if the appropriate information is not available.

Canceling execution
To cancel a report, document, data mart report, or HTML document during execution, click Cancel on the Wait page to return to the folder from which you made the request.

Reset data
You can remove manipulations made to a report since it first executed. Manipulations that can be removed are sorting, pivoting, page by, and graphing. Manipulations that cannot be removed are changes to the grid or graph styles, changing a report from a grid to a graph (or vice-versa), and drilling.

To reset the data, f rom the Data menu, select Reset Data.

  • If DHTML is disabled: From the Data drop-down list, select Reset Data then click the Go icon next to the drop-down list.
Refresh data
Click the Refresh icon at the top of the page to refresh the report. Depending upon the settings your administrator has chosen, clicking this icon:
  • refreshes the report with data retrieved from the latest valid MicroStrategy Intelligence Server cache
  • re-executes the report directly using the warehouse data
To tell which will happen, place the mouse icon over the Refresh icon , and read the tool tip that appears. The tool tip says either "Refresh" or "Re-run Report" depending upon your administrator's settings. If you are using an older browser that does not support tool tips, contact your administrator to find out what settings have been selected for the Refresh icon.

Refreshing HTML documents
Once an HTML document has been executed, the Refresh feature updates all data for each report within the HTML document. It either refreshes each report in the HTML document with data retrieved from the latest valid MicroStrategy Intelligence Server cache, or it re-executes each report in the HTML document directly using the warehouse data, depending upon the settings your administrator has chosen.

To refresh an HTML document you are currently viewing, click the Refresh link located right above the HTML document.

Re-answering prompts for reports and documents
You can re-answer prompts for reports, data mart reports, and HTML documents using the Re-prompt link, which is available in all reports, data mart reports, and HTML documents that contain prompts.

To re-prompt a report (including data mart reports), click the Re-prompt icon located at the top of the report in the Standard toolbar.

To re-prompt an HTML document, click the Re-prompt link located right above the HTML document.

Re-prompting
When you enable the Re-prompt option, the prompt with the previous answers you submitted is displayed. The previous answers in this case behave the same way as Default answers for prompts behave the first time they are executed.

If you have made changes to the report after running it, such as pivoting or formatting changes, those changes may or may not be preserved after re-answering the prompts. Whether or not they are preserved depends on how the prompts in the report were defined.